CAST Awards

CAST President’s Award

The President’s Award is a CAST honor that recognizes those individuals who have personally contributed to the advancement of CAST and who have furthered the cause of agriculture, science, and technology in a world so dependent on all three disciplines. The award is a bronze medallion, crafted by artist Jerry Palen.  The inscription reads: "Sun, Earth, Water, Mankind. In synergy with science and technology to create a sustainable world supported by plants and animals."  

The following people have received a CAST President’s Award:

2007—Richard Stuckey, CAST Executive Vice President (1992–2001)

2008—Tom Harkin, Senator (Iowa)

2011—Clare Hasler-Lewis, Executive Director, Robert Mondavi Institute for Wine and Food Science, UC–Davis

2011—Mike Johanns, Senator (Nebraska)

2011—A. G. Kawamura, Former California Secretary of Agriculture

2011—Edward B. Knipling, Administrator, Agricultural Research Service

2011—Herb Kohl, Senator (Wisconsin)

2011—Jerry Palen, Sculptor, creator of CAST bronzes

2011—Collin Peterson, Congressman (Minnesota)

2011—Jay Vroom, President and CEO, CropLife America

2012—Saxby Chambliss, Senator (Georgia)

2012—Bob Goodlatte, Congressman (Virginia)

2012—Frank Lucas, Congressman (Oklahoma)

2012—Pat Roberts, Senator (Kansas)

2012--Charles Grassley, Senator (Iowa)

2012--Orion Samuelson, Farm Broadcaster

2012Ken Quinn, President, World Food Prize Foundation

2013—Deborah Stabenow, Senator (Michigan)

2015—Dean Wendy Wintersteen, Iowa State University, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

2016Susana Fredin, Volunteer Spanish Translator

2017Don Beitz, CAST Past President

2017—Todd Peterson, CAST Past President

CAST Champion Award

The success of CAST is dependent on strong volunteer efforts of people in many roles. Some individual members serve CAST on the board; other members and some nonmembers provide CAST with quality publications and workshop proceedings as chairpersons, authors, and reviewers. All of these people are invaluable to the success of CAST. There are citations, speaking opportunities, and personal recognition for serving in these positions. Each of these inputs is critical, and while it is sometimes challenging to acquire people with time to devote to these tasks, it is even harder to find “active” members who are willing to promote CAST by working to secure funding, new members, and support for special projects such as, but not limited to, the Charles A. Black endowment fund. It is critical that CAST reward and encourage these members who contribute their time, talent, and personal contacts to benefit CAST in extraordinary ways.

The following people have received a CAST Champion Award:

2006—Kip Sander, Fundraiser

2009—Edward A. Hanlon, CAST Executive Committee Member and Treasurer

2009—Richard Reynnells, National Program Leader, USDA

2010—Claude Brown, CAST Board Member and meeting organizer

2010—Gale Buchanan, CAST Board of Trustees Chair and Task Force Chair

2011—Tom Van Arsdall, Executive Director, National Coalition for Food and Agricultural Research

2018—Jay Vroom, Vice Chairman, CropLife Foundation Board

CAST Distinguished Service Award

The purpose of this award is to honor people who have made a long-term service commitment to CAST and exhibited a long-standing dedication to the CAST mission.

The following person has received a CAST Distinguished Service Award:

2007—Robert Sweet, CAST Board Member for 29 years

Click here to learn more about the Borlaug CAST Communication Award.